Not a fan

Things of which I am not a fan:

Working five days a week  On weekdays I only see Sprout for about an hour in the morning and an hour in the evening.  She’s changing so fast that it feels like the kid I see each weekend is a totally different one than the weekend before.  She learned to roll from back to front while at daycare last week, and I didn’t see her do it until Saturday.  It’s hard to only have two days a week when we really get to hang out, and those days are full of chores, laundry, trips to the grocery store, etc.  I know that there are plenty of parents who have this schedule (or worse), but it’s still hard.

Power struggles with Tadpole in the mornings Tadpole was doing better at getting himself dressed in the mornings without a fuss, but lately things have gotten tough again.  Some mornings he crawls back into bed and pulls the covers over his head.  On other mornings it takes a threat to take away some important privilege before he puts on each item of clothing.  We had a reward chart, and that seemed to help for a while, but I think we need to adjust it somehow in order to get his attention again.

Things of which I am a fan:

Weekends  In my pre-kid life, weekends were a time to fit in as many fun activities as possible.  This past weekend we went to one event on Saturday and went to the grocery store on Sunday.  Other than that, the four of us hung out at home, and it was so nice.  There was time to catch up on some chores (I think Roo did 7 loads of laundry!), and also time to just be present to each other.

Sunny days and springtime Our little family spent a lot of Sunday afternoon outside in our yard, which was lovely.  With the cold and snowy/rainy winter that we’ve had, it feels like Sprout has hardly seen the sun!  But this weekend she got to roll around on a blanket in the grass.  And the rest of us did some work in the garden and set up our hammock.  Unlike last year, when Tad appropriated most of Roo’s tools and then did almost nothing useful with them, this time he actually did quite a bit of good weeding.

Our many-gendered boy On Saturday we went to a fairytale festival at the local library. There were a variety of costumes that kids could try on, and Tad went back to the costume booth multiple times and created a variety of outfits for his alter egos, “Princess Jack” and “an armored pirate fairy”.  At various points he had on a tutu, a knight’s hat, a purple princess dress, pirate face paint, armor, fairy wings, and a magic wand.

Familiar routines  It hasn’t taken as long as I thought it would to get back into some of our pre-Sprout routines.  I’ve made pancakes or waffles with Tad on several recent weekend mornings.  And we’re back to our old Sunday nights, which include me cooking a big dish for the week and weekly baths for the kids (yes, weekly).

Watching Tadpole and Sprout together Tad loves to be wherever Sprout is, and is constantly touching her, talking to her and making faces at her.  He is so full of affection for her that he often needs reminders to hug her more gently or to give her a little space.  One of his favorite things (and mine!) is when they have a bath together.  On Sunday night in the tub he gently poured water over her and sang her little made up songs.  And she just grinned and grinned and kicked her legs with joy as she looked up at him.   This is the kind of thing I dreamed about when we were TTC, and it’s magical to have a part of that dream come true.

10 Comments

April 7, 2014 · 9:23 pm

10 responses to “Not a fan

  1. “Princess Jack” and “an armored pirate fairy”!!! I love, love, LOVE!

    We’re also falling into old routines and it’s nice. Really nice. And Osita is just beginning to enjoy her brother, which is awesome.

    I also hate five day weeks. And way too short weekends that are filled with laundry and errands and chores.

    I hope things with Tadpole get easier. Morning struggles are such a hard way to start the day.

  2. OK see that thing with the bath? Totally confuses my fear of having a second child.

    Also the reward chart morning routine thing? I saw on TV (so I know it works!) where they turned it into a game – ‘Beat the Buzzer’. A series of alarms set throughout the routine, and a sticker each time they beat the buzzer.

    For example – out of bed and dressed by 7am. Breakfast eaten by 7:30. Bag packed by 7:45.

    I don’t know if Tad is old enough or if that would work for you, but it might be worth a try?

    • Thanks for the suggestion! We set one timer, and Tad gets a sticker for each part of getting dressed that he has completed when it goes off (one each for underwear, pants, shirt, socks, etc). But I like the idea of setting a series of timers and I think that might help him.

  3. Now that I’m an adult I love watching very young siblings interact. My wife and I babysat my cousins kids (3 and 5) and it was just amazing watching them be so crazy about each other.

  4. I’m a fan of this post. Sounds like the good moments are outnumbering the hard ones. May it ever be so.

  5. I’m also a fan of this post! Very heartening (as we are about to head into two-kid territory ourselves). Tad sounds a lot like our Jaybird r.e. getting dressed. They’ll figure it out by the time they’re ten, right?

Leave a Reply

