Gratitude

Here, in no particular order are things for which I am feeling grateful:

A lovely Saturday afternoon/evening with my family.  On this beautiful not-quite-too-hot summer day we went to a cultural festival where we heard gospel music, got Tad’s face painted, tried out drums and banjos, and watched a blacksmith.   Tad was fascinated by all of it, especially anything musical.  Then we wandered around a downtown neighborhood, watched boats, got Tadpole a flourescent-blue-colored scoop of ice cream, and danced to our favorite street musician (with one family member putting on some spectacular sugar-rush-inspired dance moves!).
My lovely and clever partner. Roo suggested that we replace our recently-defunct dehumidifier two weeks ago, which happened to be one week before we had days and days of crazy storms, each of which flooded our basement.
A light at the end of the tunnel. I’m finally (at 14 1/2 weeks) starting to feel less nausea. I’m definitely not 100%, and still have some pretty miserable evenings. But I also have some days in which I feel almost normal!
Zofran.  It hasn’t done much about the nausea.  But when I’m feeling queasy it make a huge psychological difference to know that I’m not going to actually throw up.
Roo’s parents. We’re so lucky that this set of grandparents lives in town and is eager to be involved with our family. Roo and I had a daring night out at a concert on Wednesday night so Tad spent the night at his grandparents’. By all accounts, everyone had a fabulous time. I’m so grateful that Tad has such a good connection with them, that they are willing to help us out, and that they are people I generally feel comfortable entrusting my child too. I worry that he’ll have 6 desserts per meal, but that seems like a pretty typical kids-at-grandma’s thing.
I’m, like, still pregnant. It’s still hard to believe. I was looking back over some old posts recently and remembering how awful it was when we were in the midst of TTCing. Even now it’s hard to remember just what it felt like to not know how long the process would take.  It’s still hard to believe that we’re not there anymore. There’s a really really good chance that we’ll bring home a baby this winter and be able to be done with this crazy process. We can start using the baby stuff that has been stored in plastic bins in our basement for the last five years. And when we’re done using it, we can pass it on! We’ll be done! We won’t be waiting anymore.  This waiting has been such a huge part of the last year and a half that I’m still getting used to the fact that we’re finally moving on.
YOU! The other thing that struck me as I looked back at old posts was all of the supportive comments from readers. Your offerings of commiseration, hope, advice and support made (and continue to make) such a difference! As much as the TTC process has sucked, one positive thing that has come from it is my connection to this community.  I’m thinking of all of you.  And I’m thinking especially of those who are still in the midst of the struggle and hoping that your good news will come soon.

5 Comments

Filed under blogging, Pregnancy, TTC #2, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Gratitude

  1. I love this post! I have many of the same things to be thankful for and every day I am so filled with gratitude. I know just how you feel. 😉

  2. A

    Wonderful post, all around! 🙂

  3. E

    Great post! I’ve been feeling similarly greatful, as we struggle with our continued struggle it’s nice to remember all that im thankful for.

  4. So much to be grateful for. Thank you for reminding all of us of the importance of taking the time to appreciate the things around us. And thank you for reminding us of the importance of this community that we are a part of.

  5. Aww, so many lovely things. Just a bit more waiting, and hopefully nausea free waiting, and then no more waiting! Mindblowing.

Leave a Reply

